Why I don’t like Christmas

I know what you’re thinking, how could anyone not like Christmas?  After all “Tis the season to be jolly”, right? Wrong.

Now before you get all “but Christmas is amazing!” Hear me out. I love hot cocoa, I love the smell of the tree, a nice fire warms not only your body but your soul as well. But let’s face it, the holiday has changed. It morphed into some soul sucking, energy draining, pocket picking event, that I now loathe. Of course I love the excitement and joy my kids get from opening gifts, but I feel empty inside after they are done. Not to mention the wrapping paper laughing in my face at the fact that I stressed about a sloppy fold, that-they-never-even-noticed.

 First off  I don’t really buy the whole Jesus story, not that he didn’t exist (that’s a whole other blog topic!) but I don’t get how we got here from there. A baby born in a manger…to “This isn’t the right size I’ll have to return it, did you keep the receipt?”

As far as Santa is concerned, it’s fun and all but I’m sick of that guy getting all the credit! It’s a strange ritual in itself! Hey kids, don’t talk to strangers the other 364 days! But go ahead and sit on the strange fat man’s lap and ask him for a gift…

Overall the memories, the odd gifts, the food, classic (somewhat strange) music, the genuine laughter, remembering those who aren’t with us- that’s what I love about Christmas.  I’m just sick of the pressure of buying stuff. I’ve had it! I want less focus on gifts and more focus on family. That’s what I’m aiming for this year. That’s the Christmas I want. 

Bah humbug. 

 

Leave a Reply

